The Images That Got My Degree

img_4292

If you didn’t know already, I have a degree in photography! I graduated in July 2016, which as I’m writing this is quite a while ago now! However, I thought to get back into the swing of blogging I’d show you my final degree images and explain what my project was all about.

So my final project was a huge chunk of my degree, which meant a lot of time and effort went into this project. At first, I really had no idea what I was going to do, as the brief was just so broad and we had never done something like this, we’d always have a set brief and would have to produce our work to a certain subject. For a long time I struggled to find a topic around what I wanted to do. I knew I wanted to do something along the lines of fine art and portraiture, as they’re my favourite types of photography and what I think I do best.

I was basically running before walking. I tried to fit social anxiety as my topic, but with many people already doing this it was a tad cliché. So I really sat down and thought about it, making pages and pages of mind maps. Asking myself, what am I passionate about? What is personal to me?

img_18351

An early self-portrait experiment

Then it hit me. Dyslexia within adults. I, myself am dyslexic and have quite a few friends who are also dyslexic. I really wanted to highlight the struggles and emotions a dyslexic adult feels within their day to day life. After plenty research, mind mapping and experiments, and I mean a lot of trail and error (I even microwaved a polaroid photo, that didn’t end well), I eventually managed to have 5 final images which I can say I’m proud of.

5-2smalleruntitled10-2smalleruntitled13-2smaller8-2smallerrhys-smaller

The five images above were the images that I submitted and exhibited for my degree piece. They were all done using a analog medium format camera (Mamiya 645). Having never really used a analog medium format before was a huge challenge, which was exciting! However, choosing to go analog was so time consuming and expensive, which meant I couldn’t shoot as much as I was wanting to. Every shot counted.

Overall I’m pretty proud of my images, and worked with some amazing people a long the way. I’m glad I went down the route I did, I just wish I had more time! Before I end this post, I thought it would be dun to include some images that didn’t make the finals, as I do quite like a few of them!

untitled3untitled11untitled6untitled2untitled14untitled10untitled4untitled5

If you found this post and your doing your degree images for your photography degree, my advice would be DO ABSOLUTELY LOADS OF MIND MAPS. Honestly, its the best way to generate ideas, good luck!

4 thoughts on “The Images That Got My Degree

Leave a Reply

